Firefighters Against Hunger (FFAH)

Last year there was a grass-roots effort to help feed the hungry in our community. Station 2’s paid-on-call (POC) firefighters initiated this program. Last year was successful, but as with all great programs they seem to grow each subsequent year.  This year was no exception! I have attached a partial letter from POC Firefighter Dan Wahl who is the spokesperson for the group, or at least the most vocal. Just kidding Dan.

Great job guys, this is a prime example of one of the reputations of the AHFD of giving back to our community.  As of today, food is still being dropped off.

Greetings,

I am pleased to announce that this year’s Firefighters Against Hunger (FFAH) food drive was a huge success!  Our best estimates are that we collected more than One Ton worth of non-perishable food items!  The items were donated today to the Auburn Hills Food Pantry for immediate distribution and just in time for Thanksgiving.  I would like to thank all the volunteers who helped out at the event, without whom it would not have been possible.  I would also like to thank all the various city departments that helped promote the event through the city website, the water bill mailers and the billboards.  All the extra advertising helped bring in triple the amount of food, as compared to last year’s food drive.  There was beautiful weather on Saturday and the members of the community came out in droves, to donate food to the less fortunate during this upcoming holiday season.  While I will be resigning to pursue medical school, it is my hope that each year this event is bigger than the year before.  For everyone at the fire department, I wish you well and look forward to hearing about all your future successes.  For everyone in the city, I hope you have a happy and safe holiday season and a very prosperous new year. 

About John Burmeister, Fire Chief

As a life long resident of Auburn Hills I started my carreer with the Air National Guard in 1981 as a crash/rescue firefighter. Shortly after basic training in 1982 I applied for a Paid on Call position with Pontiac Township (now Auburn Hills) Fire Dept. 1987 brought the initiation of my full time career of a firefighter. I was hired full time by Selfridge Air National Guard Base as a civilian crash/ firefighter rescueman. Then in 1989 the city decided they needed a full time fire inspector. This generated an oppurtunity to test for a position with the fire service in my hometown. I was the first fire inspector hired for the City of Auburn Hills and since that time I have held most of the positions within the department. It has been an exciting employment oppurtunity to serve those who live, work or travel through our great city
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment