Trick or Treaters Safety

Yes it’s that time of year where all the little and not so little ghost and goblins beg for candy. I ran across some safety tips from the Consumer Product Safety Commission and I thought I would pass them on to you.

Halloween Safety – In 3 Steps

  1. Prevent Fires & Burns

 Select flame-retardant materials when buying or making costumes and accessories. Choose battery-operated candles and lights instead of open-flame candles.

2.       See & Be Seen

Trim costumes and outerwear in reflective tape.  Carry flashlights or glow sticks when trick –or treating after dusk.

3.       Fit for Safety

 Adjust costumes to ensure a good fit. Long skirts or capes can drag on the ground and cause falls. Secure hats, scarves and masks to ensure adequate visibility.

Special thanks to Will and Michelle from our IT department. While trying to post this my computer received a virus, a call for help was placed and I received an immediate response and a repair that took longer than I anticipated 

About John Burmeister, Fire Chief

As a life long resident of Auburn Hills I started my carreer with the Air National Guard in 1981 as a crash/rescue firefighter. Shortly after basic training in 1982 I applied for a Paid on Call position with Pontiac Township (now Auburn Hills) Fire Dept. 1987 brought the initiation of my full time career of a firefighter. I was hired full time by Selfridge Air National Guard Base as a civilian crash/ firefighter rescueman. Then in 1989 the city decided they needed a full time fire inspector. This generated an oppurtunity to test for a position with the fire service in my hometown. I was the first fire inspector hired for the City of Auburn Hills and since that time I have held most of the positions within the department. It has been an exciting employment oppurtunity to serve those who live, work or travel through our great city
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment