Legalized Fireworks, What Are They thinking

Currently there is a Bill in Lansing up for consideration. It is the HB4293, the legalization of fireworks in the State. This Bill passed the House by a 98-10 vote. Those who sell would have to pay a permit fee to the State for $5000  and a $2500 renewal fee for subsequent years. I have several mixed emotions about this Bill. 

The first is my professional opinion. For years fireworks that explode or fly under their own power were illegal to use by Joe Citizen. Nightmares of increased call volumes for injuries and fires start exploding in my head. I remember an incident that occurred here in the City back when Jerry Garcia and the Grateful Dead came to town with all the Deadheads. The incident involved a drunk and a m-80 getting caught in his matted hair before exploding. No one knew he was injured until the next morning when he didn’t wake up. Fortunately he survived. How many times will this happen if these are legalized, not to mention the occurrences of fires that could be caused. Independence Day is typically dry in this area, how many field fires or structure fires will occur that may not have under our current law.

The second is personal. The thought of legally using roman candles, bottle rockets and firecrackers get me excited. This is overshadowed by my past experience with open flames and doing stupid things that cause injuries.

With all this being said I will take the stance that fireworks should not be legalized. Does the initial monetary gain out weigh public safety;  I think not.

About John Burmeister, Fire Chief

As a life long resident of Auburn Hills I started my carreer with the Air National Guard in 1981 as a crash/rescue firefighter. Shortly after basic training in 1982 I applied for a Paid on Call position with Pontiac Township (now Auburn Hills) Fire Dept. 1987 brought the initiation of my full time career of a firefighter. I was hired full time by Selfridge Air National Guard Base as a civilian crash/ firefighter rescueman. Then in 1989 the city decided they needed a full time fire inspector. This generated an oppurtunity to test for a position with the fire service in my hometown. I was the first fire inspector hired for the City of Auburn Hills and since that time I have held most of the positions within the department. It has been an exciting employment oppurtunity to serve those who live, work or travel through our great city
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment